In terms of game critics reviewing new game hardware I think I’ll throw a different element into the ring.

If not the game reviewers, then who?

I’m not sure who else would be positioned to speak with less bias on the possible potential or likelyhood of a console making it in this market and what people can expect from it. Sure they might be firing in the dark, but at least they’re in the same room as the target.

(It’s funny though because the few reviews I’ve seen of the Wii U as a hardware system seem to be typified as “Cautiously optimistic” and often using very qualified language like “Frame rate problems, but that might not mean a power deficit!” or “difficult to set up online, but that could absolutely be fixed in firmware later!”

Overall, more positive then I expected, but maybe I just frequent the happy-funtime-sparkles sites =P

