@angryjedi Well that definitely depends a lot on what you already own. I already own a PSP (still rocking a PSP-1000 in fact) on which to play those awesome games, but if someone I knew was looking to buy a PSP now, I’d probably suggest they get a Vita. But I myself can’t justify the upgrade just for improved backwards compatibility and a couple good exclusive games.

I also don’t know why people are so up in arms about ports. I own Persona 4 on the PS2 and won’t buy it again AND make the platform jump just for more content. The same goes for much of the Vita’s library, which I could simply buy on the PS3. I just don’t think Sony’s formula of trying to provide the console experience on a handheld is going to work. It didn’t work on the PSP and the only thing that pulled them out of the fire on that one was Monster Hunter… in Japan.

This is all just my opinion though. I’m sure a lot of people want to play Sly 4 or LBP on the go, and that’s fine. I’d just rather play games well-designed for the handheld space, and I just think Nintendo knows better how to do that. I waited on the 3DS first and was eventually sold when I played a kiosk demo of Super Mario 3D Land. If you look back, Nintendo is one of the few big companies actually willing to put their A teams to work on a portable game. By comparison, I wasn’t excited for Uncharted Golden Abyss at all because I knew it wasn’t the same team that gave us Uncharted 2. I also think that’s a major difference between Japanese and western developers. Hell, the main reason the PSP got so good in the first place was because so much of Japan’s game industry turned its tier-1 effort towards the platform. I haven’t seen very many developers do so for the Vita yet.