Re: early GOTY – I agree with the Journey love so far here… I can’t think of an experience I preferred this year although my memory isn’t what it used to be :p I will revisit this once I actually go through my list for our end of year awards…. we’re still doing that, right? 😉

I always play GTA games despite the gameplay issues. They are certainly there and drive me crazy but unlike with other series, it doesn’t bother me as much. I suspect that the aethestics of the games are what keep me interested. I also usually stick to the story missions and avoid the useless sidemission stuff. That tends to keep my interest strong enough to beat the game before the open-world “there’s too much stuff to… oh screw it, I’m down with this” feelings set in.

@bowlisimo Alan Wake was a game that I enjoyed presentation wise. Great job with the setting and the story. If you ignore the collectables and try to get through the woods as straight forward as possible, the gameplay doesn’t hinder as much as it would otherwise. Also, you definitely need to play the DLC to “finish” the story sadly…

