Apologies for my absence, but I was out and about in San Francisco to celebrate the birthday of my (much) better half. Speaking of which, San Francisco has a really fun Japantown wherein I found lots of nerdy stuff that I almost bought. I walked into this one store that had every Final Fantasy figure/toy/collectible you could ever want. It was almost like happiness overload. I wanted so much of it that I ended up not getting anything. (For real, though, the Lightning action figure looks amazing in person.)

Prospective Weekend Playlist

Torchlight 2 will probably be the first thing I sink my teeth into. I’ve been excited for this game since I found out they were making it, and I’ve managed to avoid news of the game entirely. Basically all I know right now is that it exists, it’s in my Steam library, and it has multiplayer. If it’s more of the same, then that’s totally fine with me. I can’t wait to load it up, see what the classes are for the first time, and start acquiring loot and abilities.

Final Fantasy XIII My girlfriend is gone for a week starting tonight, which means there will be plenty of time to play the types of games that bore her to tears. I think it’s time to put some real time into this and see where the game goes once it opens up.

Also, this isn’t “what I’m going to play” so much as “what I have been playing,” but Dead Rising 2 is a pretty great game. I spent a ton of time with the first one (which I should note is the title that got me to buy into the next generation in the first place), and the second one is more of the same. It isn’t sophisticated or cerebral, but it’s an open world game that works for me. I’m not sure if it’s because the game is iterative or because the scope of the open world is much, much smaller than something like GTA or RDR, but Dead Rising 2 just feels like an open world game that was made for me. Allow me to explain.

In the Dead Rising games, You can essentially go anywhere and do anything, just as you can in the GTA series or Fallout 3 or what have you. But, the big difference is the time based objectives, which work for me as a motivator. I don’t stress out about missing one of them, because it’s difficult bordering on impossible (and definitely not fun) to go everywhere and accomplish everything. Since I look at it as an impossibility to do everything, I do what I feel like, and I don’t sweat it if I miss out on saving some tourists or killing a psychopath. There’s always next time. And, I know that the next time I play through it, I will have more health, better stats, and a better working knowledge of the map.

This stands in contrast to something like Fallout 3 or <RDR which will allow me all the time in the world to go wherever I want and, basically, get bored. I have so much choice that I am paralyzed by it and find myself turning on the game, trying to figure out where to go, and freaking the fuck out so much over my choices that I turn it off. This isn’t a joke or anything by the way. I’ve explained this sensation to other people before and they all look at me like I’m about to eat some paste.

