Hello friends,

I know have been MIA for a while, busy times and I just recieved a 5 day holiday (it’s the last day of Ramadan today and Eid follows) so I got a good chunk to do the things I wanna do. Lately I’ve been playing Shin Megami Tensei: Strange Journey on the DS but keep going and coming back on Valhalla Knights on PSP (actually, playing it on the Vita, found it for like $6 on a sale, which I think is still going on), VK didn’t get much praise critically, being it is kinda unpolished. It is a proper dungeon crawler with a more traditional RPG approach, the way it presents itself however sort of gave me a flashback to something missing in games nowadays.

I wonder if any of you played any of the Tobal series, Ehregeiz or a Japan-only title known as Abala Burn. I don’t predates it, but there was a handful roguelike side modes in some PS1 fighting games coming from RPG developers (Square-Enix, Tamsoft, etc.), these modes probably could have been my earliest experience with roguelikes as a kid.

(gameplay starts at 2:00)

I’ve been kinda wondering, why don’t they make these anymore? Or at least, has there been any notable ones in recent date? I would sure love to play one if there are any. I guess Demon’s Souls and Dark Souls could be a fair candidate as a full game of that kind of thing, but I’m thinking of something more randomly generated.

