@cgrajko Uncharted is good for many of the same reasons that a movie like Raiders of the Lost Ark (or Romancing the Stone, which is really the best comparison, I think) is good. I was not “driving” but found that the thing that really drove me to keep on paying attention was the combination of well-written and well-timed scripted events in conjunction with a script that had all the right proportions of energy and humor. Also let’s be honest – I effing love Indiana Jones movies. That right there will get you a long way.

Assassin’s Creed is much more of a “sandbox” arrangement – the criticism of “repetitive!” often leveled in its direction is not completely unfounded, particularly regarding the first game. Later iterations in the series mitigate this a little by giving you the sense that as you undertake various little activities you are helping to build something larger, restoring an area to the bustling metropolis it probably should be. The narrative is something much easier to ignore than it is in Uncharted – you can take as long as you bloody well please to get back to the plot, most of the time – but for me that wasn’t a big deal.

The real appeal for me in Assassin’s Creed has actually been following along with the story of Ezio (who I found likable as a hero, and it was fun to watch him grow from callow youth to grandmaster assassin) and in particular playing History Bingo with all of the various real-life figures they pull in to spice up the proceedings. I may be the only person who went “Holy shit, Caterina Sforza!” when she showed up, but that is because I’m something of a nerd for history stuff. 🙂 So far, I am honestly not all that invested in Desmond’s story, but the history parts are enjoyable. We’ll see if Desmond’s story actually catches up.

Probably really the thing that will determine whether you love Assassin’s Creed will be how much you like the sensation of skulking about from stealth, striking quickly and then vanishing into the night (or the crowd as the case may be). Thief-heads like me are all over that shit and to be honest I much prefer it to giant gun battles, generally speaking.

I would also put a vote in for Red Dead Redemption, which is a very nice piece of work on a number of levels – the lonely Western landscapes do something for the GTA-open-world format that I rather like while also providing a pretty reasonable excuse for whipping out a gun and shooting people on a regular basis, and both the main plot and the side missions tend to be interesting (I love “I Know You,” despite the fact that it’s short and easy to miss entirely – the touch of weird is pleasing to me.) My only real complaint is that they did not have the balls to END THE DAMN THING. There is a moment where that game is over, and they should just have stopped it there, sandbox be damned. Credits roll. Game is over.

If you have not tried Sly Cooper that may be worth looking into. Whimsical charm in spades, and I am about ready for them to be done over there with Infamous, which frankly I find just this side of ditchwater on the interesting scale, so that we can have more of it. 😉 The question to ask yourself is: how do I feel about that little tippy-toes noise that cartoons make when people are sneaking? Do I love that sound? If so, get out there and play these, because that’s what it’s all about. They’re funny and charming and really rather sweet in a way. They are mission-based rather than open world, though there is a kind of “overworld” map where you can hang out hunting collectables and such between missions. IMO, they also have the Assassin’s Creed thing going on in that things really pick up around game #2.

L.A. Noire is a really interesting experiment. Whether you think it is an interesting FAILED experiment will depend a lot on how you feel about that interrogation system, I think. (I have mixed feelings about it.) It will also depend a lot on how you feel about the ability to determine your hero’s actions, and how much you like noir fiction. Be advised that L.A. Noire is surprisingly true to many conventions of the true noir genre, and that means some very specific things that not everyone will enjoy. This is not a hard-boiled detective story, though it looks like one at first. This is noir. Lots of people conflate those genres but that’s not really technically correct, and L.A. Noire demonstrates that pretty well. There is a lot of stuff I can’t really expound on without MASSIVE SPOILERS, though, so I hesitate to speak farther.

I will contemplate this question and see if I can think of some other titles that might appeal. How does she feel about Creepy Shit? We love it in our house, but it’s a flavor not everyone is down with. 🙂

