Just played a bit of Alan Wake, can’t really say I enjoyed it, maybe I was expecting all the wrong things. I was hoping for a bit of a scare but I think Corpse Party desensitized me from any other kind of horror found in games (granted, it’s a completely different kind of game).

What I found in this game was faced a shooter with a mechanic I hate as much as cover shooting, I don’t know if it has a name, but I really don’t find any fun in this mechanic when it was in Shadows of the Damned or Red Faction: Armageddon – The mechanic of applying something onto an enemy before they turn vulnerable to take damage. Granted the game looks absolutely gorgeous on PC, though the gameplay I can do without.

Also I was playing Nehrim: At Fate’s Edge, a total conversion mod for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. Basically takes all the assets in oblivion (alongside some extra stuff) and makes a completely new game out of it. Quite interesting as its free (requires a working copy of Oblivion though) and is a +60 hour game. The game, like Oblivion, is quite buggy, in fact it’s way more buggy, had the machine freeze on me twice trying to play the game. I would have carried on if it didn’t crap out, but I thought you guys might find it interesting.

