@bowlisimo and any other STALKER fans…can I just get a group hug and a round on me for this Ukranian gem? After entertaining my visiting family for a few weeks, I found the time to burn a little midnight oil and get back into the zone this eve. And as I retire just past the hour of two in the morning, I’m grinning from ear to ear and thinking that this could very well be the most atmospheric game known to man. Be it sitting on a hill and watching mutant dogs terrorise a patrol in a rainswept valley, picking your way through a deserted factory and happening across the remnants of a shoot-out, crouching at the end of a corridor with a shaking pistol pointed at where you think a Spetznaz soldier will appear or simply trudging about with the odd howl of some unknown creature echoing out across the countryside…you can’t deny the brilliance of STALKER.

The character designs, the dilapidated machinery, the scary underground sections – topping my most scary gaming experience – to the almost perfect balance of sim vs accessible shooting and weapon feel…it’s all so damn sumptuous. Gloriously depressing landscapes and wonderfully subtle writing.

To balance this dark and brooding experience, I felt a little colour was the order of the day and decided upon the recently localised Precursors! A nice balance, though still in the realm of former Soviet Bloc hijinx. Looking forward to getting stuck into that Ukrainian sci-fi RPG-FPS. Impressions forthcoming!